Thursday, May 15, 2014

Day 154 - MWHS Scholarship Night

Today's post is from MWHS Guidance Counselor Tina Kampa

On Wednesday, May 14th we held the 14th annual Scholarship Awards Night. It was a wonderful evening where we were able to recognize the generosity of the scholarship donors and the hard work and accomplishments of the senior award winners!

This year there were 52 scholarships awarded from 35 different donors to 46 members of the graduating class for a total of over $64,000 worth of scholarship money – the highest total to date!

This is one of my favorite nights of the year! One of the things that I like best about it is creating a connection between the scholarship donors and the senior award winners. It is a unique opportunity for these two groups to meet and interact with one another.

THANK YOU, once again, to all of the scholarship donors and CONGRATULATIONS to the senior scholarship award winners!

Class of 2014 Local Scholarship Winners

Warren Stickney Memorial Scholarship -- John (Jack) Leschisin
Northwest Tonka Lions 4-year Scholarship -- Mackenzie Strehle
YOST/Haddorff/Leopold Scholarship -- Courtney Cashman, Bryan Tierney and Scott Harrison
Thomas and Phyllis O’Malley Scholarship -- Alexandra Bebeau
Spring Creek Scholarship Fund of the Minneapolis Foundation -- Lily Frenette
Val Chabot Memorial Scholarship -- Jamee Schoephoerster
Westonka Jaycees Scholarship -- Leah Pinault and Erin Haug
Gloria Anderson Memorial DARE Scholarship -- Trevor Omann
Ridgeview Health Care Scholarship -- Trevor Omann 

Tyler Russell Hill Sunshine Scholarships -- Science- Emily Minzel, History- Laura Stamm, Language- Katherine Linder, DECA- Courtney Simonson, Hockey/Soccer- Hunter Smith and Football- Bryan Tierney
Kyle D. Simonson Memorial Scholarship -- Matthew Hejna
Justin David Morris Memorial Scholarship -- Maycelle Miller
WEM Teacher’s Union Scholarship -- Ashley Woytcke
Rotary Club Citizenship & Service Scholarships -- Carly Koch, Matthew Hejna, Trevor Omann and Alexander Robbins
Mary Esther Corl Memorial Scholarship -- Shelbi Patterson
Jeff Stevenson Memorial Academic/Athletic Scholarship -- Arend Turner
John Rasmussen Memorial Scholarship -- Jack Sterne
Minnetonka American Legion Aux. #398 Scholarship -- Medical- Gabrielle Smerillo and 2-year School- Rachel Andres
Brian Chase Memorial Scholarship -- Jordan Fuglseth
Robert Fox Memorial Scholarship -- William Maahs
MWHS National Honors Society Scholarship -- John Byers and Maddison Englert
Robert Photography Scholarship -- Anna Pinault
Mound Masonic Lodge Scholarship -- Jacob Hardie
MWHS Student Senate Scholarship -- Maycelle Miller and Alexandra Riffle
Westonka Administrator’s Scholarship -- Paul Locker
Knights of Columbus #6005 Scholarship -- Ryder Schmidt and Hanna Brustad
Jon Scherven Memorial Scholarship -- Derek Fuhrmann 
Crow River Bank Scholarship -- Ryan Flesher
Northwest Tonka Lions 2-Year Scholarship -- Taylor Heusinkveld
Mound Fire Department Auxiliary Scholarship -- Kayla Anderson
Westonka Snoblazers Scholarship -- Samantha Hales
Larry Exel Basketball Scholarships -- Brooke Berger and William Legeros
Marty Gilbertson Education Office Employee Scholarship -- Madeline Kalgren
MWHS Cross Country Scholarship -- Lily Frenette
MWHS Pop Singer Scholarship -- Eloise Montgomery and Nathaniel Barnes

Arend Turner
Jeff Stevenson Memorial Academic/Athletic Scholarship

 Kayla Anderson 
Mound Fire Department Auxiliary Scholarship

If you have a story that you would like to share, please email for more information! We would love to hear from you!

No comments:

Post a Comment